Romance and the Revolution – Mozart’s beloved Clarinet Quintet and exquisite Sinfonia Concertante

Our Revolutionary Romance concert will feature the beautiful rich sounds and textures of Classical period strings performing the most sublime works by Mozart and Spohr, along with the star of the basset clarinet Nicole van Bruggen.

Whilst Spohr introduces us to a revolutionary new world of string playing, Mozart is at his best in the famous Clarinet Quintet, written for the Viennese master clarinettist Anton Stadler. The Grande Sestetto Concertante, familiar to audiences as Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola, will be performed here in the magnificent chamber music version.

Blue Mountains

Saturday 16 Sept 2017
Yabba Yabba Residence
179 Wentworth Street



Sunday 17 September 2017
2.30pm (pre-concert talk 1.45pm)
City Recital Hall
Angel Place



Friday 22 September 2017
7.30pm (pre-concert talk 6.45pm)
Elisabeth Murdoch Hall
Melbourne Recital Centre


Adelaide Hills

Sunday 24 September 2017
UKARIA Cultural Centre
Mt Barker Summit



ARCO Chamber Soloists

Nicole van Bruggen
Basset Clarinet

Rachael Beesley & Anna McMichael

Simon Oswell & Jane Rogers

Mime Yamahiro-Brinkmann & Natasha Kraemer



Louis Spohr (1784-1859)
Allegro Moderato from String Sextet in C major Op.140 (1848)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Clarinet Quintet in A major K.581 (1791)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Grande Sestetto Concertante in E flat major K. 364 (1779)